burning ears // 05.31.2002

index
others
guestbook
pictures
main
diaryland

i
can't
go
long
without
catching
myself
listening to my mouth speak about you
and so softly and so gently your name rolls off
of my
tongue
and tickles the listening ears i speak upon
(my own)

and the same with my mind
as this filmstrip of you plays
(looped) without ending. its soft and gentle
and wondrous motion is the fitting of us
in ways i deemed impossible
the way you, who you are, flickers in soft
yellow light.

and i have to turn away (now i understand your eyes)
because watching for longer
would tear my heart so far away [and] through
my clentched fists against my chest (keep it in)
that i would surely die of the agony
such waiting so emphasizes and characterizes

but your ears must be burning from my constant and shocking ability to fit the subject of you into every conversation.

<< >>